Status Update for Tutorial

Just a quick update on where I am at. Unfortunately I am in a slightly busy patch with life, and so I have been unable to work on another post just yet. Shifting house this week is not helping with that either. Never fear though, I am committed to finishing this tutorial. I have already sketched out where I want to take things. The only problem is finding time to write things up. Hopefully I will be able to complete the next part some time in the next couple of week.s

I also want to give a thank you to everyone who has posted positive feedback. It is incredible to see the number of people who are interested in what I have been writing. I started the tutorial because I thought it was something I would be interested in completing as a user. I figured that, because it was on the Internet, some people would be able to find it at some point. I certainly never thought to see so many people checking it out as quickly as you all have. While I did not start out doing this for anyone in particular, interest that has been shown so far has certainly encouraged me to keep writing. I am also surprising myself with how much I actually do know about things. We live and we learn, and my hope is that what I have written will help others to learn also.

21 thoughts on “Status Update for Tutorial

  1. Randal says:

    Thanks for all your help! I’m enjoying the tutorial very much. Any idea where this is all going? What are some of the last things you plan on working on?

    • Further plans include basic combat. Once that is done I will add in a basic menu system. This will lead to starting the game from a menu, complete with player selection. I will also cover saving the game (as JSON for ease of use) followed by loading from that saved game. This process will also include how to use an external library within your project too. I think some basic user configurable options (inside Settings menu) would also be a good thing.

      • Randal says:

        Amazing! Thanks for the response. Saved game stuff has been especially tricky for me, so I would vote for that being a really useful element. I might also be interested in procedural map generation. (To hyttjo, there are tons of other great AI tutorials out there.)

      • Zhou Jianbin says:

        I want to say thank you to you, for you amazing posts and ideas! I come from China. It’s hard to find as a tutorial as perfect as yours in China. Hope for your new posts!

  2. hyttjo says:

    What about some basic AI? Have you considered adding that? Oh, and thank you yet again for this awesome tutorial! 🙂

    • I agree that would be useful, but that is not a priority at this stage. You never know though, it might come in as a bonus post once the main chunk of the tutorial is completed. 🙂

  3. Hey there! I made a finished little survival-mode RTS where you hold out as long as possible against approaching creeps for 7drts using your stuff as a starting point. Thank you so much! Never would have gotten anywhere near that far without your work. It even has a super-super basic AI (they look for the closest unit and attack it) – the game is called “Orchammer 1944” – it’s here – http://orchammer.com. (If you play it, remember: there’s safety in numbers.) And I livestreamed my work here: http://twitch.tv/happionlabs, if anybody’s *really* patient. I haven’t decided what to do with the code & assets yet – what do you think?

  4. Walter Sanchez V says:

    Elgar thanks god bless you i am begin to learning unity and this tutorial is amazing keep your excelent work with this tutorial is really really interesting and your code is beautiful…i want to have news from you very soon greetings from medellin colombia

  5. Jesse says:

    Just a note to say thanks, Elgar. As with quite a few others, using this tutorial while learning Unity has been a godsend. Can’t wait to see future installments 😀

  6. anton says:

    ah hey, man you rock, i’ve been following your tutorials for a long time by now, but i got a little bit to distracted with the movement.
    so i searched the net a bit and found the A* Path Finding Algorithm, which is not that hard to be used but i am facing a simple problem.
    where can i actually use this in my code !!!!
    i have no idea, what to erase and where to use the A*Path Finding Algorithm Scripts.
    could you please help with that ?

    huge thx in advance

    • I’m not sure off the top of my head sorry. I’m guessing that it will be in and around the code where we set the destination for a Unit and then how we handle moving towards that destination. Sorry I can’t help more than that at the moment.

  7. Elgar, I am relatively new to Unity and came across this. I really enjoy your writing style and have learned a ton about C# and how to think about inheritance and how to leverage it. Thank you for providing this resource and I am looking forward to where you take this series.

  8. hexteque says:

    I am really enjoying your tutorials. I appreciate seeing how other software developers solve some of the same problems I come across.

    Keep up the good work and don’t let too much time pass before your next tutorial!

  9. Nickolay says:

    Hi, Elgar!
    I’m fan of ur rts tutorials.
    Im eagerly waiting for your next post. Can u tell me will it be soon?
    And if no, might u answer few of my question!
    Hope for ur reply, thanks for all.

  10. Just to let you all know, I have not forgotten you 🙂 Unfortunately I cannot say exactly when the next post will be up. Hopefully sometime in the next month though.

  11. I’m finding this invaluable as a new user of Unity with an establish background in software development. Helping me get my head around the thinking process needed when developing with this system as I’m investigating this in my spare time.
    Look forward to your next article, Keep up the good work Elgar!

  12. This is an outstanding tutorial, I´ve read it from beginning to last words here and I can´t wait to see what amazing things you will create. Really interested in this. Thanks for the hard work on this tut.Cya.

Leave a Reply

